

Jeanine Johnson Chair, Nominating Committee

PJM Interconnection 2750 Monroe Blvd. Audubon, PA 19403

VIA Electronic Delivery

July 21, 2025

The Honorable Gov. Matt Meyer
The Honorable Gov. JB Pritzker
The Honorable Gov. Andy Beshear

The Honorable Gov. Phil Murphy
The Honorable Gov. Josh Shapiro
The Honorable Gov. Gretchen Whitmer

The Honorable Gov. Bill Lee
The Honorable Gov. Wes Moore
The Honorable Gov. Glenn Youngkin

Dear Honorable Governors.

We are in receipt of your correspondence dated July 16, 2025, to the PJM Board of Managers, as well as the July 18, 2025, email from Glenn Davis of the Virginia Department of Energy on behalf of the governors inviting the Nominating Committee to meet on July 23. We appreciate your interest in the PJM Nominating Committee activities and acknowledge your request for a meeting. We agree that a discussion would be beneficial; however, the PJM Board and membership participants in such a discussion should not be limited to those who are current members of the PJM Nominating Committee. Rather, such discussions should be held in an open and transparent manner at the upcoming Members Committee meeting.

Our understanding from your July 16 correspondence is that you wish to share your "proposal for a balanced slate of candidates" and propose that "two Board seats must remain dedicated to candidates who are proposed by the states collectively." We are restricted by the Committee's Code of Conduct from considering candidates that have not been presented through the independent consultant Korn Ferry and restricted from discussing candidates with anyone not on the Nominating Committee. Moreover, the Nominating Committee is not empowered to make any changes to the PJM Board member election process and PJM governance structure. Both are codified in the PJM Operating Agreement and require deliberation and vote of the PJM Members Committee and ultimately Federal Energy Regulatory Commission approval to change. Thus, the Nominating Committee supports the idea suggested by PJM Board Chair David Mills to add an agenda item to the July 23 Members Committee meeting for state representatives to share your perspectives and proposals to the entire PJM membership and PJM Board members in attendance.

The Nominating Committee has kept the email submission portal PJMBoard@KornFerry.com open past June 30 as previously requested, and the Committee is continuing to screen candidates with the independent consultant. The Committee is currently conducting in-person interviews with finalist candidates for the two nominations. We ask that you promptly submit desired candidates and any supporting materials to the above-reference email address so that they can be screened immediately.

The Committee appreciates the engagement of the states on the governance of PJM and on the important challenges facing the energy industry.

Sincerely,

Jeanine Johnson Chair, Nominating Committee PJM Board of Managers

cc: David Mills, Chair, PJM Board of Managers
Margo Loebl, PJM Board of Managers
Vickie VanZandt, PJM Board of Managers
Sean Chang, Other Suppliers Sector
Denise Foster Cronin, Transmission Owners Sector
Jordan Nader, End Use Customers Sector
Marji Philips, Generation Owners Sector
Rory Sweeney, Electric Distributors Sector